Six times Magsaysay Awards glued Indians with pride!


In April 1957, six weeks after Philippine’s third President, Ramon Magsaysay died in a plane crash; the Rockefeller Foundation suggested to the new President, Carlos P. Garcia, the creation of a ‘Magsaysay Award’ to be given yearly to persons in Asia, who have done something outstanding for the good of the people.


With the first awarding being in 1958, here is a list of certain facts you ought to know. Have a look and wait till you get surprised.

1. Vinobha Bhave, the first Satyagrahi, received this award in 1958 for ‘Community Leadership.’


2. Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay was the first Indian woman to win this award. She was a Gandhian, a social reformer, a freedom fighter. She was the driving force behind the renaissance of Indian handicrafts, handlooms, and theatre in post-Independence India.


  1. RK Lakshman, creator of ‘The Common Man,’ and the favourite author of all times won it in 1984.


4. Mahasweta Devi, who passed away recently on 28 July, was also a receiver of this prestigious award in 1997 under the category of ‘Journalism, Literature, and the Creative Communication Arts’ for “compassionate crusade through art and activism to claim for tribal peoples a just and honorable place in India’s national life.”



  1. A series of 8 volumes of books was planned in 2007 by these awards titled ‘Great Men and Women of Asia’. The first volume featured Mother Teresa.


6. Now here’s to a surprise! Arvind Kejriwal, who now has a population divided for and against him, also got the Magsaysay award in 2006 for ‘Emergent Leadership.’ Much leadership imbibed, isn’t it?


About The Author


Divya Rajani (PGGCG-11)

Divya Rajani is a student of BA -III(Eng Hons.) from PGGCG-11. She likes writing, making new friends, and her love for food is endless. She wants to pursue her career as a Public Relations Officer and her future plans are to explore new places and write about them.


About Author

Comments are closed.