Nobel Prizes and Laureates 2016


The most awaited time of the year has come, the announcement of the ‘Nobel Prize Winners’. You may not get the time to read in detail about all the prizes, so heres for you a crisp sneak-peak at the Nobel Prize Winners 2016. (That have been announced so far)

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry– This prize is awarded annually by Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the prize is administered by Nobel Foundation.Three makers of world’s smallest machines have been awarded Nobel Prize in Chemistry this year. The three scientists, Jean-Pierre Sauvage, J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa have designed molecular machines, which are the world’s smallest mechanical devices that may be used to create new materials, sensors and energy storage systems. They will share equally the prize of 8 million Swedish kronor, or about $930,000.

The Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in physics is divided, one half awarded to David J. Thouless, the other half jointly to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz for “theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter“. They expounded the exotic state of matter other than three states, namely solid, liquid, gaseous and ionized state.  Their work is in the field known as condensed matter of physics. According to the Royal Swedish Academy their work could help in making quantum computers a reality! (We can’t wait Already!)

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

This prize is bagged by Japanese Biologist Yoshinori Ohsumi for his discoveries on mechanism of autophagy. Autophagy is imperative part of one’s health and without this biological recycling process one’s body would clutter up with smashed cellular parts. His research was on how cells recycle worn out bits of microscopic machinery into new, fully functional organic stuff. He discovered this mechanism back in 1990s and the same had a long term implications and has unfastened a whole new branch looking into how bodies use self-cannibalization to stay healthy.

The Nobel Peace Prize

This noble award is bestowed to Juan Manuel Santos, the president of Columbia for his resolute efforts to bring the Country’s more than 50 year long civil war to an end. He had worked assiduously to culminate the war between with the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Columbia, that has been instigating insurgency against Columbian Government since 1964. Although the peace deal in Columbia had failed but still this prize appears as a hope for the Columbian people.

Stay tuned, as we update you with the names and achievements of the  other geniuses that are yet to be announced!

About The Author

Kushaldeep Kaur

Kushaldeep Kaur (B.Com LLB, UILS)

‘Winners don’t do different things, they do things differently’ is what motivates me and I tend to work accordingly!


About Author

Comments are closed.