IPL 2018: CSK emerges Victorious!


Chennai Super Kings’, the symbolic lions won the ‘Vivo IPL 2018’ title in an interesting match against ‘Sunrisers Hyderabad’, on May 27th at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. It was the  first IPL finals ever hosted at Wankhede stadium. The match was also live telecasted to the Lords Stadium in England.

To begin with, CSK had won the toss and chose to bowl first. The match began on an interesting note, when they took the first wicket at 13 runs. Not gone much far, and Shikhar Dhawan was bowled too. He took a chance to hit a big six, but the ball bounced underneath his swing and brought some disappointment to the SRH fans.

However, amid of SRH batting, we saw little weaknesses in bowling team’s fielding. They gave away too many fours and missed some easy catches like that of DJ Bravo. Despite flaws, Csk stopped them quite soon taking a wicket even on the last ball, and set themselves a target of 179 runs. If compared to the other matches played in IPL this season, such a target is not at all hard to conquer.

When Csk came to bat, the score was 10 runs at the 3rd over. The team opened with Shane Watson and Faf Du Plessis on strike who, literally saved the team in the  semi-finals. However, this time it seemed to be a wrong decision to let him bat first. He was bowled at 10 runs, following which Suresh Raina came on strike.

Shane Watson took his own time to turn into ‘M’Shane Gun’, after which  Wankhede witnessed Watson raining sixes and fours in every direction. He blew away SRH with an unbeatable number of 117 runs off just 57 balls,  which is highly remarkable.

Although, one thing we need to take note of is that, SRH team beautifully defended runs through their fielding but just couldn’t  stand against the ‘wrath of Watson

After an extremely fascinating play, the ‘Chennai Super Kings’ reinstated their victory in the ‘Indian Premier League’ for the third time. Fans all around the nation expressed their happiness over the victory, through social media platforms like; Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and the WhatsApp statuses.

Shane Watson won the ‘Man Of The Match’ title and received rupees one lakh and a trophy as a prize.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the ‘captain cool’ too received rupees 10 lakh and a trophy for his innovative gameplay and also established a record of most wickets stumped in IPL.

Finally, Dhoni received the cash prize of 20 crore rupees on behalf of his team for the historic win they recorded in 2018 IPL. The team CSK popped up the cork and raised the trophy, elating their super fans worldwide.

Another season of this 51 days national festival, which established 30 records this time concluded with triumph!

About the Author:

Kishlay Sinha (DAV College 10)

A gregarious man with diverse academic exposure studied in India and abroad. A Professional guitarist and just love music and good food. Writing is my strength it is my own voice reaching out to the masses to make a difference.


About Author

Comments are closed.