DAV’s Performa This Elections

In Council Elections 2k16-17, DAV College saw a historical change in trends with the most alliances, and in terms of number of parties that joined together. These alliances were unexpected and surprising. The elections took place from 9:30AM- 12:30PM. It also saw an increase in the number of voters than the last elections, the total vote polls being more than 4600. This gave a rise to the possibility of mismanagement and other incidents. But the election committee, security forces, police and management did a wonderful job of avoiding any incidents inside the college. The competition was tough and the results made victors by margins.

The results were announced around 5:30AM. Out of a total 4662 polled votes; Presidential seat went to Mohit from INSO with 1294 votes, leaving behind HSA candidate Dhruv Singh Bangar with 1116 votes and NOTA selection being 53.

The seat for Vice President went to Amandeep Kaur from the INSO+GGSU alliance with 1023 votes, leaving Dheeraj Thakur of HIMSU+ABVP+ISA alliance behind with 1019 votes, and 82 NOTA votes.

Sajal Kamboj of the ISA+ABVP+HIMSU alliance won the position of General Secretary with 926 votes, and left behind Prateek Arora of HSA+NSUI(SF)+PUSU+HPSU alliance by 920 votes. Total NOTA votes here being 109.

Finally, the Joint Secretary position went to Raman Bholta of HSA+NSUI(SF)+PUSU+HPSU alliance with 979 votes. The runner up for this position was Vikas Bharti of ISA+ABVP+HIMSU alliance by a margin of 52 votes. Total 165 NOTA cases here.

The candidates were congratulated by DAV College Principal, Dr. BC Josan and Dean Students Welfare, Prof. Gurjit Singh Gill for a disciplined and well-managed election. 

About The Author


Abhimanyu Khadwal (DAV College 10)


About Author

Comments are closed.