Border Gavaskar Trophy: It’s All On The Record!


Indian and Australian Cricket Team played a 4-Test Match Series from February to March, 2017. This was the last series of the marathon home season of Indian cricket which lasted for 6 months. India won the series 2-1 and thus regained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after 2 years.

This was the sixth consecutive series won by India under the leadership of Virat Kohli. Three new venues were given a chance to host Test Matches for the first time in this series; namely Pune, Ranchi and Dharamshala.

Here is how the series went:

Australia won the first match of the series by 333 runs, making the signal of a competitive series between the two sides which later turned out to be true. Australian team was appreciated by Virat Kohli for their fighting spirit, but that did not win them the series! India won the second and the fourth Test Match by 75 runs and 8 wickets respectively, while the third Test Match was a draw

2Record-Setters and Record-Breakers:

India maintained their ranking with the help of this series win of No. 1 Test side in the world, regaining the Boarder-Gavaskar Trophy. Cheteshwer Pujara and R. Ahwin were the best batsman and bowler of the season for scoring the maximum runs and taking the maximum wickets in a single season. R. Ashwin bowled the maximum overs in the season and surpassed the record of Anil Kumble. Cheteshwar Pujara played the longest innings by an Indian in the third Test Match of the series where he scored a double hundred, surpassing the record of Rahul Dravid. Ravindra Jadeja and Steve Smith were given the ‘Man of the Series’ award; Ravindra Jadeja for taking the most wickets and Steve Smith for scoring the maximum runs in the series.

Overall, it was a competitive series between the number 1 and number 2 ranked test side in the world which made for great viewing for the spectators.

About the Author:

Aarush Munjal (UILS, PU Campus)

Aarush Munjal
(UILS, PU Campus)

Dreams to be a sports broadcaster with Star Sports. A sports enthusiast and in love with writing.


About Author

Comments are closed.